Certified Tester Advanced Level - Test Analyst


The ISTQB® Advanced Level Test Analyst (CTAL-TA) certification provides the skills needed to perform structured and thorough software testing across the software development life cycle. It goes into detail about the test analyst’s role and responsibilities in every step of a standard test process and expands on important test techniques.


The Advanced Level Test Analyst certification is aimed at people who wish to further develop their expertise in test analysis and test design techniques.

Entry requirements

To gain this certification, candidates must hold the Certified Tester Foundation Level certificate and a minimum of three years testing experience is recommended.

Course Content

  • Testing process
  • Test management: Responsibilities for the test analyst
  • Test techniques
  • Testing software quality characteristics
  • Reviews
  • Defect management
  • Test tools

Business Outcomes

A candidate who has achieved the Advanced Level Test Analyst certification should be able to:

  • Perform the appropriate testing activities based on the software development life cycle being used
  • Determine the proper prioritization of the testing activities based on the information provided by the risk analysis
  • Select and apply appropriate test techniques to ensure that tests provide an adequate level of confidence, based on defined coverage criteria
  • Provide the appropriate level of documentation relevant to their testing activities
  • Determine the appropriate types of functional testing to be performed
  • Work effectively in a usability testing team
  • Effectively participate in requirements / user story reviews with stakeholders, applying knowledge of typical mistakes made in work products
  • Improve the efficiency of the test process with the use of tools

Duration : 5 Days

Format : Classroom / Virtual

Exam Structure

No. of Questions: 45                        Total Points: 78

Passing Score: 51                           Exam Length (mins): 120

(+25% Non-Native Language)

Holders of this certification may choose to proceed to other Core, Agile, or Specialist stream certifications.