Certified Tester Foundation Level - Mobile Application Testing


This certification introduces the concept of hands-on objectives which focus on practical skills and competencies.


Aimed at anyone involved in software testing who wishes to broaden their knowledge of Mobile Application Testing or anyone who wishes to start a specialist career in Mobile Application Testing.

Entry requirements

The ISTQB® Foundation Level certificate must be obtained before taking this exam.

Course Content

  • Mobile World - Business and Technology Drivers
  • Mobile Application Test Types
  • Common Test Types and Test Process for Mobile Applications
  • Mobile Application Platforms, Tools and Environment
  • Automating the Test Execution
  • References and ISTQB® Documents

Business Outcomes

The expected business outcomes for candidates who achieve the Foundation Level in Mobile Application Testing certification are:

  • Understand and review business and technology drivers for mobile apps in order to create a test strategy.
  • Identify and understand the key challenges, risks and expectations associated with testing a mobile application.
  • Apply test types and levels specific to mobile applications.
  • Apply common test types, such as those mentioned in [ISTQB_CTFL_2018], in the mobile specific context.
  • Carry out the activities required specifically for mobile application testing as part of the main activities described in the ISTQB® Test Process.
  • Identify and use suitable environments and appropriate tools for mobile application testing.
  • Understand methods and tools used specifically to support mobile application test automation.

Duration : 2 Days

Format : Classroom / Virtual

Exam Structure

No. of Questions: 40                        Total Points: 40

Passing Score: 26                           Exam Length (mins): 60

(+25% Non-Native Language)

Holders of this certification will be eligible to proceed to the next stage of the Core stream and take Test Analyst, Technical Test Analyst, or Test Management Advanced Level certifications. They may also choose to follow the Agile or Specialist streams to develop specific skills.