Certified Tester Foundation Level - Usability Testing


Understand the concepts, methods and practices of collaboration between product owners / business analysts and testers in acceptance testing.


Aimed at anyone involved in software acceptance testing activities. This includes people in roles such as product owners, business analysts, testers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers, and software developers.

Entry requirements

The ISTQB® Foundation Level certificate must be obtained before taking this exam.

Course Content

  • Introduction and Foundations
  • Acceptance Criteria, Acceptance Tests and ExperienceBased Practices
  • Business Process and Business Rules Modeling
  • Acceptance Testing for Non-Functional Requirements
  • Collaborative Acceptance Testing

Business Outcomes

The expected business outcomes for candidates who achieve the Foundation Level in Acceptance Testing certification are listed below.

As this qualification covers three roles, business analysts, product owners and testers, the business skills targeted are expressed by role.

For business analysts and product owners:

  • Contribute to an organisation’s acceptance testing activities by participating in the acceptance test design phase and supporting the alignment of the product with the business requirements.
  • Contribute to the organisation of acceptance testing activities, including the process, artifacts, communication, reporting, monitoring, and management of such activities, and collaborate with testers and other relevant stakeholders in this process.
  • Contribute to the quality of the acceptance testing process, including validation and verification of produced artifacts.

For testers:

  • Contribute to the definition of acceptance criteria during the requirements definition phase.
  • Collaborate efficiently with business analysts and other stakeholders during all acceptance testing activities.
  • Understand the business objectives, communicate with business units, and share common objectives for acceptance testing.

Duration : 2 Days

Format : Classroom / Virtual

Exam Structure

No. of Questions: 40                        Total Points: 40

Passing Score: 26                           Exam Length (mins): 60

(+25% Non-Native Language)

Holders of this certification will be eligible to proceed to the next stage of the Core stream and take Test Analyst, Technical Test Analyst, or Test Management Advanced Level certifications. They may also choose to follow the Agile or Specialist streams to develop specific skills.